Friendship · Life Perspective · mummyblog

Holding down friendships and raising children.

FB_IMG_1493291310777

This is mainly one for my friends without children..

Oh my god do I adore you guys, you remind me what life is like without toddlers dangling from your limbs. The adult conversation that stems is simply bliss, no poop, no sticky finger prints on their clothes.

Just everything about being around them makes me feel like me again.

You guys put up with my kids and genuinely love being around them! That in itself is happiness.

But what happens when you’re in a situation, where the other person doesn’t understand. That’s happened alot since having kids, I’ve lost a lot of friends simply because they didn’t ‘get it’.

I’m a socialable type of human, most would tell you that. But holding down friendships with children in tow is hard work.

I’m sorry I don’t want to get drunk with you on a Saturday night. I’m sorry, that in my child free time I’d rather be cleaning my house or sleeping, than go shopping with you. I’m sorry I can’t be there for you all the time and I’m sorry I don’t have the patience for your problems.

You see, having children gives you a whole new perspective on life. The little things that upset you, or make you mad when you don’t have children suddenly become minor in life.

I’m not the same person anymore, I have other friends that have more in common with me and they just ‘get it’.

Friendship with other mothers seems almost effortless, you have a more lot in common, these women are irreplaceable life support

But that doesn’t mean I’ve had enough of you.. Life takes us all down different paths and although they may be different there is always mutual ground.

The key to a good friendship is making the most of the mutual ground and understanding each other in a caring way.

We became friends for a reason right?

So what I’m trying to say to my childless friends is, thank you for loving my children but don’t forget about me. I’m still here, I just different now…

I’m like a coffee driven, responsibility filled, boring and generally exhausted zombie mum…

But I’m still that good friend I once was, my priorities are just in a different place now.

470ea2d827e07ad37f9354b2ef03a69c

 

✌️

Leave a Reply

